The Swim! Or: Waking is the Hardest Part

I swam on Sunday and Tuesday.

And that’s really it. Sunday I took Sam to visit my cool new gym, and I wanted her to time my 100m time. I cold only do 50m before my pecs burned like hell. Considering I have to do 750m the day of the Triathalon, I think I have a long, long way to go. My 50m was 1m25sec. Sounds quick to me, but I know it’s really slow.

I got a little fire in me and got up at 4:30 on Tuesday to get to the gym by 6am. I swam for a half an hour before calling it in. I alternated laps focusing on legs then arms, back and forth like that. And tried to do something with my breath. I nearly sucked in a lungful of water a few times. Not professional, but it made my parts ache in that good kinda way, so maybe I’m on the right track. Plus I got to sit in the hot spa pool for 10 minutes.

Now the problem is scheduling. I didn’t swim again this week. I will say that work has been shit, but that’s really no excuse. It’s hard to find motivation a lot of the time. Sleep sounds lovely at any time. But whether I wake up at 6:30 or 4:30, I don’t feel any better in the morning, I’m still just sleepy and sore. I just have to be an early bird more. I have to squeeze in running, biking, swimming and maybe weights? Man, I just don’t know.

Still no bike. But I’m still doing cardio 5-6 days a week, plus 2 mile (alternating) run on Wednesdays. So I’m still getting some sort of activity in. Just not tri-centric. I’ve got research to do, very definitely. And things I have to buy. So many things.

One thought on “The Swim! Or: Waking is the Hardest Part

  1. You’re definitely on the right track. And you’re 10 months out from your triathlon. If you swim only twice a week for the next few months, you’ll see a big difference in your stamina.

    Breathing is really important in swimming. It is best to breathe every third stroke, alternating sides. If you start practicing that now when you are swimming shorter distances and slower, it will be easier as you progress.

    Just a tip!

Leave a Reply

